Back to top

Labour Department

Employment Agencies Portal

EMPLOYMENT AGENCY OPERATORS / STAFF

I would like to....

Know the content of the Code of Practice for Employment Agencies(transcript), including the salient legislative requirements that employment agencies (EAs) must follow, and the standards which the Commissioner for Labour expects from EAs


Read the Points-to-Note for Operating an Employment Agency(transcript) and Guidelines and/or Circular Letters issued by the Employment Agencies Administration


See the information on the licensing and regulation of employment agencies

The proposed name of your employment agency should not be identical with or closely resemble the name of another EA. You can send the proposed name of your employment agency and your telephone number to Employment Agencies Administration by fax or email to check whether the proposed name can be used for application.

You need to submit the application form(transcript) in person, together with other relevant documents(transcript). Please also see the flow chart(transcript) and the guidance notes(transcript) for application procedures.


Important Note : Before being granted a licence, you must not operate an employment agency or will be liable for an offence.

You need to submit the renewal application form(transcript) two months before expiry, together with the supporting documents(transcript) required. Please also see the flow chart(transcript) for application procedures.


Important Note : Before your licence is renewed, you must not operate an employment agency or will be liable for an offence.

You are suggested to go over the Employment Ordinance and Employment Agency Regulations, as well as other related publications for the legal requirements under the Employment Ordinance and relevant to the employment of FDHs if you are placing Foreign Domestic Helpers.


According to EO and EAR, the maximum commission which may be received by an EA from a job-seeker shall be an amount not exceeding a sum equal to 10% of the first-month's wages received by the job-seeker after he/she has been successfully placed in employment by the EA. The provisions are applicable to all job-seekers.


You also need to ensure that the operation of your EA is in full compliance with all laws of Hong Kong at all times. EA licensees, nominated operators, related persons of and the individuals employed by the licensees or the person intending to be the licensee, as well as parties interested in joining the EA business should also read the Code of Practice for Employment Agencies(transcript) for salient legislative requirements (they are by no means exhaustive) that must be followed when operating the EA and the minimum standards which the Commissioner for Labour expects from them.


Apart from EO and EAR, EAs should observe provisions of other legislation including but not limited to the following:

  • Trade Descriptions Ordinance (TDO)
    In their commercial practices, EAs must not deploy against consumers unfair trade practices prohibited by TDO.

  • Immigration Ordinance
    EAs should not aid or abet others (e.g., employers or FDHs) to make false representation to Immigration Officers or to breach the job-seekers’ conditions of stay in Hong Kong.

  • Theft Ordinance
    EAs should not withhold the personal property of job-seekers without the owners’ explicit consent.

  • Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance (PDPO)
    EAs should observe the requirements under the PDPO when handling the personal information of employers and job-seekers.

  • Prevention of Bribery Ordinance (POBO)
    EAs should observe the requirements under the POBO, including not to solicit, accept or offer any bribe in conducting the EA’s business or affairs.


For the laws which are considered most relevant to the operation of EAs, please refer to the Code of Practice for Employment Agencies(transcript).


If you wish to know more about the Employment Ordinance, you can enroll the seminars (in Cantonese) organized by the Labour Department. For more information, please click here.


For enquiries relating to the labour-related laws, you can call Labour Department’s 24-hour hotline 2717 1771 (handled by 1823). For other enquiries, please contact the relevant departments/organisations.

Employment Agency Licence


According to the Employment Ordinance (EO), any person who wishes to operate an employment agency (EA) in Hong Kong to provide job-placement service must apply for a licence, or a Certificate of Exemption (CoE) from the Commissioner for Labour before he/she can carry out business. The EO stipulated that, only the holder of an EA licence or CoE or an associate of the holder may operate, manage or assist in the management of an EA in Hong Kong. An associate is only allowed to operate, manage or assist in the management of the EA to which the licensee’s licence relates.


In short, an associate includes the management of and a person employed by an EA. According to the law, an associate means a related person of or an individual employed by the licensee or the person intending to be the licensee of an EA;


A related person means, in relation to a company, a director, manager, secretary, or other similar officer of the company; or in relation to a partner in a partnership, another partner in the partnership or another person concerned in the management of the partnership.


Operating an EA without a valid licence or a CoE is liable for an offence, which is subject to a maximum penalty of $350,000 and imprisonment for 3 years upon conviction.

Branch office(s)


The licence is valid for operating an EA at the place of business specified in the licence or CoE issued in respect of the EA only. A duplicate licence should be obtained for each of the branch office(s) of the EA which is located at different address(es).

Validity of the licence


The licence is valid for one year from the date of issuance. The licensee should ensure that his/her EA licence (including main and duplicate licence(s)) is renewed before the present one expires.


Renewal application should be submitted to Employment Agencies Administration (EAA) no later than two months before the expiration. The licensee is reminded to submit the renewal application with all information and supporting documents required timely to avoid the situation where the licence could not be renewed before it was expired.

Requirements when the EA is in business


  • The licence must be displayed in a prominent position at the licensed address.
  • The Second Schedule to the Employment Agency Regulations (which sets out the prescribed commission) must be displayed in a prominent position at the licensed address.

Failure to do so may be liable for an offence, subject to a maximum penalty of $10,000.

Change of business details / Cessation of business


The licensee is required to notify EAA in writing, for any change of the following within the specified period –

  • Change of nominated operator – within 14 days after the change
  • Change of related persons of the licensee – within 14 days after the change
  • Change of individuals employed by the licensee – within 14 days after the change
  • Change of place of EA business – not less than 14 days before the change
  • Cessation of business – within 7 days after the cessation. The licence (main and duplicate) should be returned to EAA by the same deadline.

Code of Practice for Employment Agencies


The Commissioner for Labour, pursuant to section 62A of Employment Ordinance, promulgated the Code of Practice for Employment Agencies (CoP)(transcript) for compliance by the industry with a view to promoting professionalism and quality service in the EA industry.


The LD may issue warning letters to EAs for rectification of irregularities detected, including but not limited to failing to meet the statutory requirements and/or standards set out in the CoP. The Commissioner for Labour may also consider, amongst other relevant factors, the relevant track record of the EAs and/or their capability of meeting such requirements / standards, in making decision of revoking, or refusing to grant or renew EA licences.


The CoP is available for inspection by the public free of charge at the office of the Employment Agencies Administration of the Labour Department during office hours. The CoP may also be downloaded from LD’s website and at this thematic website.

Useful documents and forms

All EA operators and potential operators should read the Practical Guide for Operating an Employment Agency for the legal requirements and procedures that should be followed when applying for an EA licence as well as operating an EA.


The Code of Practice for Employment Agencies(transcript) should be read by all EA licensees, the nominated operators, related persons of and the individuals employed by the licensee or the person intending to be the licensee, as well as parties interested in joining the EA business, for salient legislative requirements that they must follow when operating their business and the minimum standards which the Commissioner for Labour expects from them.


Forms

Depending on the type of application / notification to be submitted to EAA, different forms and documents would be required. For the forms that are commonly used, please click here.


According to paragraph 4.2.3 of the Code of Practice for Employment Agencies, EAs are required to notify EAA as soon as practicable and preferably within 14 days of any change of the contact particulars of the licensee, company director(s) and/or nominated operator by submitting Form CoP-F1. Besides, EAs are required to notify EAA within 14 days if there are any changes (including joining, leaving or position change) of the related person(s) or employed individual(s) by completing form EA-LOA(transcript). If there is insufficient space to provide particulars of all the related persons or employed individuals in the form EA-LOA, please use the ‘Supplementary Sheet-Related Person (EA-LOA-Supp-RP)(transcript)’ and the ‘Supplementary Sheet-Employed Individual (EA-LOA-Supp-EE)(transcript)’. The completed form(s) together with the authorisation at Appendix (if applicable), all in original should be submitted to EAA by post.


EAs should also update their particulars displayed in this website (EA Portal) where necessary by submitting the Form EAP-F1.

Note:

Viewing of the above document requires Adobe Acrobat Reader and Asian Font Packs for Acrobat Reader - Chinese Traditional

I am ...

An existing or a potential

employment agency operator or staff

 

LEARN MORE

I am ...

Looking for a licensed

employment agency

 

LEARN MORE

I am ...

A foreign domestic helper

回到最上

勞工處

職業介紹所專題網站

職業介紹所經營者/職員

我想......

你的職業介紹所擬用名稱不應與另一職業介紹所的名稱相同或極為相似。你可以把你的職業介紹所擬用名稱和你的電話號碼以傳真或電郵方式送交職業介紹所事務科,以查核擬用名稱可否用於該申請。

你須親自遞交申請書(transcript)及其他相關文件(transcript)。請一併參閱申請程序流程圖(transcript)須知(transcript)


重要事項:你不得在獲發牌照前經營職業介紹所,否則可構成罪行並須負上法律責任。

你須在牌照有效期屆滿前兩個月遞交續牌申請書(transcript)及所需證明文件(transcript)。請一併參閱申請程序流程圖(transcript)


重要事項:你不得在牌照獲續期前經營職業介紹所,否則可構成罪行並須負上法律責任。

如安排外傭就業,請細閱《僱傭條例》及《職業介紹所規例》,以及其他相關刊物,以了解與《僱傭條例》及僱用外傭有關的法定要求。


根據《僱傭條例》及《職業介紹所規例》,職業介紹所向求職者可收取的佣金最高限額不得多於求職者成功覓得職位後收取的第一個月工資的百分之十。此規定適用於所有求職者。


你亦須確保你的職業介紹所在營運的任何時候都完全遵從所有香港法例。所有職業介紹所的持牌人、被提名經營者、持牌人或擬作為持牌人的人的有關連人士及受僱人員,以及有意經營職業介紹所業務者,均應閱讀《職業介紹所實務守則》(transcript) ,以了解營運職業介紹所須遵守的主要法定要求(實務守則並未列出所有相關法例),以及勞工處處長期望他們必須達到的最低標準。


有關在營運職業介紹所時至為相關的其他法例條文,請參閱職業介紹所實務守則(transcript)


如你希望對《僱傭條例》有進一步認識,可報名參加由勞工處舉辦的《僱傭條例》研討會(以粵語進行),請按此了解詳情。


有關勞工法例的查詢,可致電勞工處24小時電話熱線2717 1771 (由1823接聽)。如有其他查詢,請聯絡有關部門/機構

職業介紹所牌照


根據《僱傭條例》,任何人如欲在香港經辦職業介紹所以提供就業服務,必須先向勞工處處長申請牌照或豁免證明書。條例闡明,所有在香港經辦、管理或協助管理職業介紹所的人,都必須是職業介紹所牌照或豁免證明書持有人或為該牌照或豁免證明書持有人的相關人士。持牌人的相關人士只獲准經辦、管理或協助管理與該持牌人的牌照相關的職業介紹所。


簡單來說,相關人士包括職業介紹所的管理層及受僱人員。根據法例,相關人士指職業介紹所的持牌人或擬作為持牌人的人的有關連人士或受僱人員;


根據法例,有關連人士就一間公司而言,指該公司的董事、經理、秘書或其他類似的人員;或就一個合夥中的合夥人而言,指該合夥中其他合夥人,或其他涉及該合夥的管理的人。


任何人未領有有效牌照或豁免證明書而經營職業介紹所,可構成罪行並須負上法律責任,一經定罪,最高可判處罰款350,000元及監禁3年。

分行


獲發牌照的職業介紹所只可在牌照或豁免證明書指明的營業地點經辦業務。如職業介紹所於不同的地址經營分行,則應為每一間分行領有牌照複本。

牌照有效期


牌照有效期為一年,由發出日期起計。持牌人應確保其職業介紹所牌照(包括總行牌照及分行牌照複本)在有效期屆滿前獲得續期。


續牌申請書應在牌照有效期屆滿的最少兩個月前向職業介紹所事務科(事務科)提交。持牌人應適時提交續牌申請書及所有相關資料和證明文件,以免現有牌照在有效期屆滿前未獲續牌。

經辦職業介紹所的規定


  • 職業介紹所必須於已領有牌照的地址內當眼處展示其職業介紹所牌照。
  • 職業介紹所亦必須於已領有牌照的地址內當眼處展示關於訂明佣金的《職業介紹所規例》附表2。

違反以上規定可構成罪行並須負上法律責任,最高可判處罰款10,000元。

更改業務資料/停止經辦職業介紹所


以下業務資料如有任何更改,持牌人須在指定期限內以書面通知事務科–

  • 更改被提名經營者 – 更改後14天內。
  • 更改持牌人的有關連人士 – 更改後14天內。
  • 更改持牌人的受僱人員– 更改後14天內。
  • 更改職業介紹所營業地點 – 更改前不少於14天。
  • 停止經辦職業介紹所 – 職業介紹所停業後7天內。有關牌照(包括總行牌照及分行牌照複本)須於同一期限內交還事務科。

職業介紹所實務守則


勞工處處長根據《僱傭條例》第62A條頒布《職業介紹所實務守則》(實務守則)(transcript)供業界依循,以促進職業介紹所業界的專業水平和服務質素。


勞工處可就查察到的違規事項,包括但不限於未能符合實務守則所載述的法定要求及/或標準,向職業介紹所發出警告信,敦促其糾正。勞工處處長決定撤銷、拒絕發出或續發牌照時,可考慮所有相關因素,包括職業介紹所的相關紀錄及/或其達到實務守則所載列的要求及標準的能力。


公眾人士可在辦公時間内,到勞工處職業介紹所事務科辦公室免費查閲實務守則。實務守則亦可在勞工處網站及本專題網站下載。

有用文件及表格


所有職業介紹所經營者及準經營者均應閱讀《經營職業介紹所實務指南》,以了解申請職業介紹所牌照及經營職業介紹所應遵守的法定要求及程序。


所有職業介紹所的持牌人、被提名經營者、持牌人或擬作持牌人的人的有關連人士及受僱人員,以及有意經營職業介紹所業務者,均應閱讀《職業介紹所實務守則》(transcript),以了解營運職業介紹所須遵守的主要法定要求,以及勞工處處長期望他們應達到的最低標準。


表格

視乎所需提交申請書/通知書的類別,申請人需向事務科遞交不同的表格及文件。請按此索取常用表格。


根據《職業介紹所實務守則》第4.2.3段,職業介紹所的持牌人、公司董事及∕或被提名經營者的聯絡資料有任何更改,應在切實可行時間內(最理想為14 天內)盡快以表格CoP-F1通知事務科。另外,如職業介紹所的「有關連人士」或「受僱人員」有任何人事變動(包括新增、離職或職位調動),必須於變動後14天內將更改詳情填報於表格EA-LOA(transcript)內。如表格EA-LOA內的空格不足以填報所有「有關連人士」或「受僱人員」資料,請使用「補充頁-有關連人士(EA-LOA-Supp-RP)(transcript)」及 「補充頁-受僱人員 (EA-LOA-Supp-EE)(transcript)」。請將填妥的表格及附頁授權書(如適用)正本郵寄至事務科。


如有需要,職業介紹所亦應遞交表格EAP-F1以更新其在此網站(職業介紹所專題網站)的資料。

注意:

你或須具備Adobe Acrobat Reader中文版,或Adobe Acrobat Reader英文版及Asian Font Packs for Acrobat Reader才可瀏覽以上文件

我是...

現有或準職業介紹所經營者或職員

 

 

了解更多

我...

正在尋找持牌職業介紹所

 

 

了解更多

我是...

一名外籍家庭傭工