Back to top

Labour Department

Employment Agencies Portal

LOOKING FOR A LICENSED EMPLOYMENT AGENCY

Licensing requirement


Under the laws of Hong Kong, all employment agencies (EAs) are required to obtain a licence or Certificate of Exemption (CoE) from the Commissioner for Labour before undertaking any job placement business.

Before using the service of an EA, employers or job seekers should check if it holds a valid licence first. You can use the search engine provided in this website for identifying EA(s) with valid licence in Hong Kong. Please contact Employment Agencies Administration (EAA) if you have any queries.

The names of the persons and agencies to whom licences have been issued in every year are published in the Gazette. The latest issue of Gazette with the names of the persons and agencies to whom licences have been issued can be found here.

Also, according to the laws, EAs are not allowed to collect from job seekers any fees or charges other than the prescribed commission, which is set at 10 per cent of the latter’s first-month's wages upon successful placement.

If you suspect an EA is operating without a valid licence, or overcharging commission to job seekers, please report to EAA. Any person who operates an EA without a licence or CoE issued by the Commissioner for Labour or overcharging commission shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable on conviction to a maximum penalty of $350,000 and imprisonment for 3 years.

Notes for employers


Apart from making sure the EA has a valid licence, you are also encouraged to check the reputation of the EA, from websites, discussion groups, or word of mouth of your friends and relatives.

To protect your interests, you are advised to clarify and agree with EA the details of the service, including the coverage, itemized fees, date of reporting duty of the FDH, refund or exchange policy etc, before making any payment. Ask for a receipt after payment. The agreed terms should be written down in a service agreement signed by both parties. Should the EA failed to honour any of the agreed terms, or it is suspected of contravening the Trade Description Ordinance, you should seek assistance from the Consumer Council or the Customs and Excise Department.


Labour Department has promulgated the Code of Practice for Employment Agencies(transcript), in which the salient legislative requirements that EAs must follow, and the standards which the Commissioner for Labour expects from EAs are included. You may make reference to the Code of Practice for Employment Agencies when engaging EAs.

Notes for job-seekers


According to the law, EAs cannot charge you any fees or expenses, be it directly or indirectly, in relation to the job-placement other than the prescribed commission (which is currently set at 10% of your first-month's wages after successful placement). To protect yourselves, you should obtain a receipt from the EAs after you have paid the commission. Any job-seeker who is suspected of being overcharged by an EA should report to EAA as soon as possible.

Upon receipt of complaint against an employment agency which is suspected of contravening the Employment Ordinance, and/or the Employment Agency Regulations, EAA will follow up immediately. It may approach the complainant for an interview to obtain more details during the investigation process; or when it is decided that prosecution will be instituted against an EA for its suspected breach of law, EAA may invite the complainant to act as prosecution witness as and when necessary.


To protect the interest of job-seekers, section 56 of the Employment Ordinance stipulates that an EA shall maintain a record containing the job-seeker’s name, address, HKID (or passport number and citizenship if the job-seeker is not a Hong Kong resident), fee and commission received (if any), date of employment as well as name and address of employer. Such record shall be kept at the place of business of the EA to be made available for inspection by the Labour Department.

I am ...

An existing or a potential

employment agency operator or staff

 

LEARN MORE

I am ...

Looking for a licensed

employment agency

 

LEARN MORE

I am ...

A foreign domestic helper

回到最上

劳工处

职业介绍所专题网站

寻找持牌职业介绍所

发牌规定


根据香港法例,所有职业介绍所在经营任何职业介绍业务前,必须先向劳工处处长领取牌照。

雇主或求职者使用职业介绍所的服务前,应先查核职业介绍所是否持有有效牌照。你可使用此网站的搜寻器,以找出本港持有有效牌照的职业介绍所。如有疑问,请联络职业介绍所事务科(事务科)

每年获发牌照的人士及职业介绍所的名单会在宪报刊登。请按此参阅最新刊登在宪报的获发牌照的人士及职业介绍所的名单。

此外,根据法例,除订明佣金(现时为求职者成功觅得职位后第一个月薪金的百分之十)外,职业介绍所不得向求职者收取任何费用或收费。

如怀疑有人未领有有效牌照而经营职业介绍所或向求职者滥收佣金,请向事务科举报。任何人如未领有劳工处处长发出的牌照或豁免证明书而经营职业介绍所或滥收佣金,即属犯罪,一经定罪,最高可判处罚款350,000元及监禁3年。

雇主须知


除了确保职业介绍所领有有效牌照外,你可从网站、讨论群组或向亲友查证职业介绍所的信誉。

为保障你的权益,应在付款前与职业介绍所厘清并议定服务详情,包括涵盖范围、分项收费、外佣到任日期、退款或更换外佣安排等,并在付款后索取收据。议定的条款应载于经双方签署的服务协议内。如职业介绍所没有履行任何一项议定的条款或涉嫌违反《商品说明条例》,应向消费者委员会或香港海关求助。


劳工处已发布《职业介绍所实务守则》(transcript),当中包括职业介绍所须遵守的主要法定要求,以及劳工处处长期望职业介绍所应达到的标准。使用职业介绍所的服务时,可参阅《职业介绍所实务守则》。

求职者须知


根据法例,除订明佣金(现时为求职者成功觅得职位后第一个月薪金的百分之十)外,职业介绍所不得直接或间接向你收取与就业介绍有关的任何费用或开支。为保障自己,在支付佣金后,应向职业介绍所索取收据。求职者如怀疑职业介绍所滥收费用,应尽快向事务科举报

事务科收到有关职业介绍所涉嫌违反《雇佣条例》及/或《职业介绍所规例》的投诉后,会立即作出跟进。在调查过程中,事务科会按需要约见投诉人以取得更多资料,或在决定向涉嫌违法的职业介绍所提出检控时,邀请投诉人担任控方证人。


为保障求职者,《雇佣条例》第56条规定,职业介绍所须在营业地点保存求职者的纪录,当中须载有求职者的姓名、地址、香港身份证号码(如并非香港居民,其护照号码及国籍)、所收取费用及佣金(如有)、受雇日期及雇主的姓名或名称与地址,以供劳工处查阅。

我是...

现有或准职业介绍所经营者或职员

 

 

了解更多

我...

正在寻找持牌职业介绍所

 

 

了解更多

我是...

一名外籍家庭佣工